Posted by: Ray | July 14, 2008

Out and About Around Whitby

30 July 2008

Whitby from Sandsend

Towards Whitby from Sandsend, 3M of beach.

 

 

I have had a fantastic time here at Whitby, its the longest period I have spent aboard Christine Marie in harbour, but it is a lovely port with an active fishing industry that mingles well with leisure craft and summer tourists. 

 

 

Sandsend

Sandsend

 

 

Whitby must hold the record for the number of fish and chip shops …. many of them ‘posh ones’  🙂 where crab, lobster and all other local caught fish is served alongside standard fish & chips with mushy peas.

  

 

Whitby towards Sandsend from Abbey Pt

Whitby towards Sandsend from Abbey Pt

 

 

I have eaten in several and the & fish was fresh and cooked to perfection. The fish chowder at the Magpie Cafe deserves a mention, it was described as ‘orgasmic’ by a visiting friend!!  🙂

  

 

Whitby Abbey

Whitby Abbey

 

 

Friends and family have visited during my stay and I have made visits to local harbours along the coast, walking and by bus.

 

  

 

-)

My evening meal, grilled tail of Ling ... Yum 🙂

 

 

 

I spent a day at sea with a local fisherman on board his boat ‘warrier’ catching many mackerel, two large Ling and two Whiting. I gave most to the skipper but enjoyed a couple of mackerel and half a ling as meals on board.

 

  

 

ST Mary's Church, Whitby

ST Mary's Church, Whitby

 

 

The pilot book describes Whitby as “having so much to offer the visiting yachtsman that they are prone to ‘harbour rot’. ”  Very true, but I am now raring to move on and, weather permitting, will sail Friday to Blythe or Amble with Tony, a local sailor who I was introduced to by the Whitby marina manager.

  

Robin Hood Bay

Robin Hood Bay

Harbour at Robin Hood Bay

Harbour at Robin Hood Bay

 

 

 

 

The Grand Turk arriving at Whitby

The Grand Turk arriving at Whitby

 

 

I have friends and family joining me for most of August into September so I hope to make Peterhead in Scotland early in September.

  

Staithes Harbour

Staithes Harbour

 

 

 

 

 

     

Staithes Creek

Staithes Creek

 

 

 

Whilst at Whitby I have been able to operate my amateur radio and it’s great to know that so many amateurs have read about my cruise, are listening for me and are following my blog.  Whilst here I made contact with two amateur friends from Newbury, Pat, G3OUC and Mike 2E0UAO.  It was good to make contact with them again after so many years. 

  

  

Runswick Bay

Runswick Bay

 

 

I also operated on the key on 40m.  Very rusty and not very slick, but I made contact using just 5W QRP (low power) with DL2DBU in Germany and Tim GM4LMH in Dingwell Scotland.

 

 

 

 

22 July 2008 

Whitby Beach during strong Northerly Winds

Whitby Beach during strong Northerly Winds

 

 

I took these photos a couple of days ago when the wind was strong and from the North. The HM told me they were not allowing yachts to enter the harbour as the conditions were too dangerous.    

 

Whitby Harbour entrance, strong north wind.

Whitby Harbour entrance, strong north wind.

 

 

The swell comes right into the harbour and fishing vessels have been known to be washed against the harbour walls by the swell.  Certainly nobody was leaving!!  🙂

 

 

Categories

