Posted by: Ray | January 14, 2009

Oban at Winter

This post covers my visit to Oban before Christmas to check on the yacht.

js_oban2

Oban Marina, Kerrera Island

Oban in Winter

Oban in Winter

 

 

In December I travelled up by train to Oban to check on Christine Marie. I wanted to assure myself that she was dry and secure following several weeks of gales and snow I had seen on the weather forecasts. 

Across Oban Bay to Kerrera, Mull in background

Across Oban Bay to Kerrera, Mull in background

 

 

The forecasts predicted a spell of fine weather and I decided to go at short notice. I could not have picked a better three days to visit, the weather was fine (although very cold), the scenery fantastic with snow covering the mountains in the distance. 

Ferry to Oban Marina arriving Oban

Ferry to Oban Marina arriving Oban

 

 

I arrived in the dark at Oban, so stayed the night at the Oban Bay Hotel, catching the ferry to Oban Marina on Kerrera Island in the morning.

 

Oban Marina, Kerrera Island

Oban Marina, Kerrera Island

 

 

On arrival at the marina I was pleased to find Christine Marie secure and dry. The engine had been serviced & winterized and it was soon warm and cosy on-board with the heating turned up. 

  

Modified LED Light

Modified LED Light

 

I stayed on board for the following two days, replacing the gally taps and converting one of the cabin lights to LED. 

The masthead navigation and anchor light was replaced with a LED version before I set sail last year, but the cabin lights (There are four) each consume 20W, drawing 8A from the battery in total.  

Flexible LED Strips

Flexible LED Strips

 

 

 I used new flexible strips of LEDs that can be fixed with their tape backing.

I was very pleased with the result, the current was just 0.2A (one tenth of the original bulbs)and I plan to covert the rest of the lights on my next visit. 

Completed LED Light

Completed LED Light

 

 

Since converting the light I have found direct replacement LED bulbs that are brighter than the original filament festoon types, but one tenth of the power.  I have now replaced all remaining cabin lights with these and many other LED types are available from the supplier.    A link is below. 

Kerrera Island across to Mull

Kerrera Island across to Mull

 

 

 

During my stay at the marina I took the opportunity to walk round part of Kererra Island. It’s a lovely unspoilt Island with only 30 permanent inhabitants.

 

View to Oban Marina across Kerrera Island

View to Oban Marina across Kerrera Island

 

 

 

I passed small farmsteads with their free range chickens, pigs, and sheep grazing in the nearby fields. 

 

Kerrera

Kerrera

 

 

 

It was a lovely visit and I can’t wait to cruise these waters when I resume my passage in the spring. 🙂

 

 

logo-ultraleds

Categories

