Posted by: Ray | May 1, 2009

Inverness awaiting Crew, Interview with Sir Robin Knox-Johnson.

Dawn at Seaport Marina, Inverness

Dawn at Seaport Marina, Inverness

 

Since arriving at Seaport Marina, Inverness, I have been getting the yacht cleaned, attending to minor repairs, updating my Blog and making a few contacts on Amateur Radio.

Its been a fine, but very windy and gusty week. As I write the wind is howling through the rigging, water is slapping the hull and Christine Marie is lurching on its mooring with the gusts.

The highlight of the week has been an interview tonight with Sir Robin Knox-Johnson on Radio Solent’s H2O boating show. It was great to talk to the man who was the first to sail singlehanded round the world without stopping.

My challenge does not compare with what he and many other adventurers have achieved, but to me, sailing round the UK is one of the biggest challenges of my life and one I am loving every minute.

I am determined to bring Christine Marie home safely at the end of the year and with everyones help, to beat the £3000 goal I set for the charities I am supporting.

The interview with Sir Robin can be heard on this link:

www.bbc.co.uk/podcasts/series/h2oshow/

Please follow my adventure on my BLOG and help me meet my charity target.

Next update at Oban as I start my homeward passage. 🙂

Categories

