Posted by: Ray | May 1, 2010

Ready for a new season’s sailing.

I have been inactive on the BLOG since returning from my adventure round the UK in September last year and thought I should give a short update at the start of the 2010 sailing season. 

Christine Marie was taken ashore onto hard standing at Lymington Yacht Haven for the winter in October last year to dry out and to complete some work on the rigging and hull.  The mast was de-stepped to make improvements to the visibility of my masthead tri-colour LED navigation lights, insert a sleeve to avoid the problems with cables possibly fouling the main sail track, all running rigging was replaced and a new headsail furling system fitted. 

I fitted an AIS receiver to the navigation equipment, that allows me visibility of large ships on my GPS display, along with an alarm if any are on collision course.  I added an extra loud alarm that will wake the whole ship!   🙂  I did add a switch that turns it off, so it can be optional, but it will come in useful when crossing shipping channels, in poor visibility, or when the anchor drag alarm is set. I have had great fun testing it out. I can see ships navigating the shipping lanes in the English Channel 25M away and the alarm regularly goes off as the ferries navigate down river and their course brings them onto collision with me on the hard-standing ashore  !!  🙂

The bad weather in January held up working on the hull and I turned to exploring around my home village with long walks in the country and along the canal, hard work at times in the snow.  I escaped the weather during February and early March with a holiday to Dubai and South Africa. I had a great time in lovely weather.  The trip into the Dubai desert ‘dune bashing’ in a 4×4 was really an experience and had the adrenaline flowing like being out in a force 7 at sea!!  I also managed a tourist trip out on a sailing catamaran off the South Coast of South Africa and took the helm for a while.   🙂   I hope to experiment with videos on this BLOG later this year and have some good clips to add, sailing last year in Christine Marie and from the holiday to Dubai/S Africa.

On return from holiday I was behind with work on the yacht and have been working hard down on the South Coast to complete cleaning and anti-fouling on the hull. Christine Marie is now back in the water and ready to sail.  This year I plan to sail mainly in the Solent, with some trips across channel to France and the Channel Islands. I am looking for crew to join me for short trips out and for longer cruises, so anyone interested please contact me by email.  I am also starting to think of another long adventure, this time down to cruise the Med for a couple of years ….possibly starting next year.  🙂

Categories

